An Unexpected Bonus

Our little condo is across from an elementary school. One unexpected bonus that has come from being so close to a playground is my new Evening Time. For the last several nights, we’ve been going to the playground after dinner.

Rex has been taking his basketball, but mostly he watches the other kids play. Chloe (our elderly dog) takes advantage of the grass and chases a ball for a few minutes. Being a senior doggy who isn’t the slimmest girl out there, she tires easily. After about 15 minutes or so, I take her back home for water and her evening meds. Sam and Rex remain at the playground, usually for another 30-45 minutes.

Do you know what one woman can accomplish in 30-45 minutes when left totally alone? It’s amazing.  Tonight I celebrated the new routine by making myself a drink, throwing on my wireless headphones, and having a ridiculous dance party by myself. I shook my booty and did the dishes, the laundry, and cleaned up after dinner.  The complete emotional reset accomplished by 30 minutes of alone time and a kickass private dance party is astounding.

I think I’m going to like it here…

IMG_20150622_192629(Gratuitous Rex shot, sent to me by my husband during their playground time.)

P.S.
Dear Neighbors,
If you’re looking in my windows, I’m not sorry for the awesome brain-staining booty shakin’ you saw. It’s your own fault for looking.
Love, Me.

Leave a Reply

