Appreciating the Journey

My car is in the shop. Again.

We got rear-ended on the way home from OCF.  The insurance has been great and no one was injured (it was VERY low speed).  But for some reason, my brake lights have stopped working. They’re trying to figure it out, but I’m carless in the meantime.

Luckily, I am privileged enough to live in a city with excellent public transit and walkability. So we’ve been walking for the past two days. We walked to swim, we walked to the park, and, if I’m still carless tomorrow, we’ll take the bus to the Asian market to shop with friends.

Want to know something? I’m loving being carless!  Sure, it’d be a pain when we go grocery shopping. But walking lets us appreciate what’s around us so much more.  To that end, I’ve been indulging my secret love of flower photography.

2015-07-28 12.06.10These pink flowers were covered with honeybees.

2015-07-28 09.47.15Sunflowers taller than myself.

2015-07-27 17.58.57Particularly striking, these were growing alongside a fence.

Leave a Reply

